The postures in Kundalini Yoga and their benefits

Patwant Kaur

Foto: Camila Muradas

The postures in Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan®, also called asanas, form angles and triangles with the body. Those stimulate the energy flow of the eight chakras (energy centers interconnected of the body) and lead one to meet with the totality of the self. These postures relax and stretch the muscles and prepare the person to enter fastest in the meditative process.

Each asana is held for a while and during that time, physical and mental confrontation can occur. When students manage to go through this stage of confrontation, they gain physical and mental strength. Each position has a unique wisdom which brings excellence, comfort and vitality to the person.

This practice encourages people not to identified themselves with the physical pain and the existential dramas of the ego. It seeks to stimulate the potential of the beings in theirs most creative and conscious selves. Within this context, each person must understand and accept the limitations of the physical and mental orders, if they exist. In the science of yoga, wisdom and respect for the body and spirit must prevail above any circumstance, because the function of this Science is to unify being and promote wellness.

What is Kriya?

In Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan®, Kriya is the combination of postures, breathing and sound, to allow the manifestation of a particular state.This practice helps to promote physical, mental benefits in all levels. Yogi Bhajan has left a great variety of them for specific purposes: Kriyas for the nervous and glandular systems; to increase flexibility of spine; to stimulate the pituitary gland; to work projection and radiance, among others. Kriya helps the body to access the self-regulatory system and promote cures.  A teacher of Kundalini Yoga cannot change or adapt kriyas. They should only reproduce knowledge in its entirety as it was left by Yogi Bhajan. A class of Kundalini Yoga lasts an hour and a half and the time is divided among the Kriya, relaxation and meditation. Warming up before the class is optional according to each teacher.

(Source of information: Kundalini teacher’s book Yoga – KRI – Kundalini Yoga as taught by Yogi Bhajan ®).  The yoga teachings within this article were used by permission of Kundalini Research Institute; For further information contact:



Hits: 2783

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: